Re-Evaluating My Time (What’s Different?, Part 2 of 5)

IMG_2030

First off, I want to apologize for my lack of updates recently. It has been a crazy few months! As you can see from the photo above, Kirsten and I have been all over the place 🙂 I will be posting a bit on the trip that we were able to take and some of the highlights later, but with the bit of time I have left today, I wanted to talk about something that has been a huge part of my weight loss: time.

This series is a short series on five things that have really helped me in my weight loss journey. I can honestly say that I have tried to lose weight numerous times before and have fallen short quickly (after a lack of results or physical pain that I was feeling). This series, titled ‘what’s different’ is my attempt to answer that question for you all to hopefully spur on those who are on a similar journey. This week I want to talk quickly about time.

Time is a funny Thing… 

When I started thinking about weight loss, one of the biggest excuses that came to my mind was: I don’t have enough time! Going to the gym can take over an hour (at least), cooking healthy food can take a while, logging food into myfitnesspal is a bit of a time waster…. And to top it off, getting unhealthy food from McDonalds is so convenient…

The issue of time doesn’t just account in moments of convenience.. time is an issue in GENERAL because weight loss takes so long. Getting to the weight I need to be at is something that will take a lot of time and, to be honest, it’s something that I am not sure I am always willing to wait for.

Once I realized that I was thinking in this way I realized that my view of time was really hindering me from living a healthy lifestyle.. Something needed to change.

We Make Time for What we Want to Make Time For… 

IMG_2340

I’ll be honest here. It did not take me very long to realize that I actually DID have time in my day. As soon as I started exercising, logging food, and trying to stop eating out of convienence the shows on my PVR piled up and the time wasters that I had indulged in *cough* clash of clans *cough* (among other games etc.) stopped taking up so much of my days. Don’t get me wrong, I still watch TV and play games, but it’s after the other things are done!

One of the hardest things I’ve had to do was look at my priorities. I made a list of my values and priorities, the things that I cared about. I then had to carefully discern, from that list, what was actually a value and what was an ‘ideal’ (something that I didn’t actually value because it was not something that I invested any time into). When weight loss and health becomes a priority and the excuse of ‘I don’t have enough time for this’ is exposed… this is able to happen because those things have moved from ideal values to actual values.

Let’s use today for example. I have to be at the House of prayer in 2 hours, but I haven’t gone to the gym today. I’ve structured my whole day so I could get all of my work done in order to go to the gym before HoPE. Will I be rushed, probably, but I value and prioritize this now.

I want to encourage you to ask yourself the hard questions – do I actually value weight loss and healthy eating? How can I make these things a priority in my life.

3 thoughts on “Re-Evaluating My Time (What’s Different?, Part 2 of 5)”

  1. Excellent, Daunavan. I’m re-learning this important lesson right now. Yes, I probably have less time right now (with two children + work) than I did when I lost weight after having Olivia (with one child + maternity leave), but I still have hours in my day to prioritize. I switched gyms to one with more generous hours, now I just need to utilize that time. And I have to learn to log food again and make better food choices for me and for my family. Thanks for sharing, it’s reaffirming what I already know to be true and needed to hear again :). Balance is simple, but difficult ;).

  2. GREAT post (yet again)! I don’t know if you’re intentionally writing this way but your findings transcend the specifics of weight loss and are speaking to a bunch of areas in my life too. Thank you Daunavan for your faithfulness and gospel living in the practicality of life. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

