Conquering Objections… (What’s Different? Series Part 1 of 5)

11102684_10153258567589564_6331882703688322737_n

I took the photo above this morning at the gym. I am holding a 45 lb. weight.. that is roughly the amount of weight that I have lost in the last 3 months. It’s pretty crazy to think about the reality that I was carrying around this much weight all of the time!

So What has Changed? 

As I shared in my last blog post, weight loss has been something that I have tried to do time and time again. I have often failed very quickly after mustering up some motivation… but this time, something is different. I wanted to address that quickly in my blog posts for the next little while. Hopefully this will resonate for some of you!

1. I realized that I was catering to objections rather than truths: In a counselling session, my counselor and I were talking about why I didn’t want to lose weight, what some of the ‘objections’ that I had to losing weight were… “I don’t have the time to excercise,” “food is an idol and I don’t want to give up certain foods or the freedom of eating what I want, when I want,” “I don’t have the emotional energy to lose weight,” “I don’t deserve to be skinny (as if my being overweight was some sort of equalizer for my lack of self esteem…” to be honest, the list goes on.

What my counselor had me do next was weird.. she had me walk up and down the stairs outside of her office. After doing so, I returned to her office and she asked me a question: “What was easier, writing down the objections or walking up and down the stairs?” I said to her “walking up and down the stairs,” she said “then why do you keep living in all of those objections rather than just doing something about it and exercising?” I didn’t have an answer.

What I learned on that day was that I had been catering to objections rather than truth.

As I understand them, objections are lies or excuses in my mind (either subconscious or conscious) that ‘object’ to making positive and healthy choices… the problem is that I was giving these objections so much power.

The Bible actually talks about this a bit in Romans 7.. Check it out:

18 For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot do it. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do. 20 Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me. –Romans 7:18-20

So, our Spirit’s desire to walk in wholeness and health while our flesh desires to act on things that are not healthy. Our flesh objects to our Spirit’s. But the good news is that we are not live under subjection to our flesh, we are to live under subjection to Spirit.

But you are not in the flesh; you are in the Spirit, since the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. 10 But if Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, the Spirit[i] is life because of righteousness.11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ[j]from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also through his Spirit that dwells in you. –Romans 8:9-11

God’s Spirit lives in ME and gives me the power to overcome the objections of my flesh and live healthy: the way that HE intends me to live! As soon as I learned that the excuses I was making were actually holding me back from being healthy, I realized that these objections needed to (and can) be put in their place! Part of overcoming these objections has been a daily request for the Holy Spirit to give me strength when my flesh wants to make an unwise choice. As you can see, the results have been amazing!

Questions to consider: What ‘objections’ do you face when you think about your own journey to wholeness and health? What lies may be fuelling those objections? What would it look to silence those objections and ‘go up and down the stairs.’

Leave a Reply

