A Life Devoted to the Word of God (Pt. 2)

This is the second part of a mini-series that I am posting to my blog from a sermon I preached to the young adults at my church in January 2012 at our young adult retreat. Each of thee posts will build on the previous one, so to view the first part of this series, click here.

 What the Bible says about Itself
The scriptures are filled with a whole lot of different  passages that speak of the power and necessity of the Word of God. Keep in mind as you read the Old Testament references (from Psalms & Proverbs) that they didn’t have the new Testament! We can only be sure that they had what they referred to as the Torah (the first five books of the Old Testament)! We have a whole lot more of the word of God than they did (including the very words of Jesus).  As you read these quick excerpts, think about these questions…

1) What do these verses say about the word of God
2) What do these verses say are some of the positive effects of a life rooted in the word of God?
3) What are some of the promises that God has for you if you choose to commit to the word of God?

Proverbs 2:1-5: My son, if you receive my words and treasure my commandments within you, making your ear attentive to wisdom and inclining your heart to understanding; yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understanding, if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God. 

2 Timothy 3:14-17: But as for you, continue in what you have learned and firmly believed, knowing from who you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work. 

Psalm 119:9-16: How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word. With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! I have stored up your word in my heart that I might not sin against you. Blessed are you, O Lord; teach me your statutes! With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth. In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches. I will meditate on your precepts, and fix my eyes on your ways. I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.

Psalm 1:1-3: Blessed is the man who walks not n the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers. 

I don’t want to say much more for this post. These are a few of the key verses in scripture that really speak into the importance of a life in the word and I want them to speak for themselves. As I said in my last post. I don’t want people to feel guilted into reading the word of God, I want people to have a proper vision of the power and necessity of the word of God. Just feeling like ‘I’m not reading my Bible enough’ is NOT a good enough motivation to begin doing so, but coming to a point of seeing the Bible as the living word of God, able to transform your heart and mind when you commit to reading it.

The reality is, though, if you want to function as someone who is growing in a relationship with Jesus and truly seeking Him to inform every area of your life, you need to be in scripture! This is not an option. Especially for those who wish to distinguish themselves as Christian leaders, you must be in the word! Hopefully these verses can start to give you a vision for the importance of the word, next post I will be expanding this idea even more and looking at some of the reasons why the word is so important! Make sure you check it out.

3 thoughts on “A Life Devoted to the Word of God (Pt. 2)”

  1. Feel free to make a comment!! I would love to converse with you about this! Anything for the purpose of being argumentative or obscene I will remove. Thanks for understanding!

  2. Pingback: For His Glory

Leave a Reply

