What I Do

Before I get to into writing random weekly blogs, I wanted to start out simply by describing what I do with the House of Prayer Edmonton. The House of Prayer Edmonton is a multi-denominational ministry that exists here in Edmonton for the purpose of seeing God’s kingdom established through worship and intercession as well as equipping the Church. Before I go on, what I mean by ‘intercession’ is prayer for others. Being an intercessor means that one takes seriously the calling of God on His church to function as priests. In the Old Testament, it was the job of the priests to stand before God on behalf of the people (stand-between or intercede). We take this very seriously at the House of Prayer Edmonton and make it our mission to consistently this city to God through intercession. Back to the House of Prayer, we seek to practically walk out our mission in a few different ways: the prayer room (we meet at the Marketplace Chapel), discipleship training, and partnering with local Churches. We have seen tremendous growth over the last year and are looking forward to more ways that we can practically walk out our mission statement.
At it’s most basic, my job is simply an “Intercessory Missionary.” Sounds a little intense, but hopefully I can help you understand it a bit.What is an Intercessory Missionary?

(For a much fuller answer, click here for the link to Joshua Hawkins’ blog (an intercessory missionary at the International House of Prayer in Kansas City))
To put it as simply as possible, an intercessory missionary is one who commits to giving the whole of their lives to intercession (as I explained above). It is different from a traditional missionary, but just as important in the days to come and in light of what is going on in the world today. Intercessory missionaries are one’s who are radical about prayer and believe that it makes a huge difference and are called to give their lives to the place of prayer. It is a vocation like any other, I see my role as an intercessory missionary as my job. While all believers are called to intercede, some are specifically called to this type of day and night intercession, and there is a Biblical precedent for this.
In Luke 18, Jesus encourages his followers to cry out for justice day and night, in Matthew 9, He encourages His disciples to pray that the Lord would send out labourers in the harvest, in Luke 2, we meet Anna, who devoted herself to day and night prayer for the first coming of Jesus. There are also examples of this type of prayer in the old Testament. King David set up a tabernacle and had numerous singers, musicians, and intercessors cry out day and night in worship to God. I believe wholeheartedly that it is where God has called me to for the time being. If you have any more questions, please check out Josh Hawkins’ blog (link is above) or email me!

So What do I do?
My role as an intercessory missionary is part time. I have chosen to commit 20 hours per week to the House of Prayer, 10 hours of my week are spent in the prayer room either leading worship, joining in intercession, or leading some aspect of ministry within the prayer room. The other 10 hours of my week are mixed. About 3-4 hours per week are spent in study and the remainder are spent doing various projects and fundraising. The House of Prayer does not pay me for my time, I must fully fundraise my own salary. Because of this, I must commit some time weekly to fundraise and communicate with my supporters. (If you would like more information about support and would like to support what I am doing, please click here)
Some of the projects that I am working on involve updating and re-designing our website, marketing and promotion for the House of Prayer (working on videos, various social networking sites, and communicating with local Churches), and preparing for the time I spend leading worship in the prayer room (finding new songs, songwriting, etc.). Each of us as missionaries has a very defined role and we ensure that each week we are following our minimum requirement of prayer room hours and service hours.

Why do I do This?
I began working at the House of Prayer in September, 2010, 4.5 months after I got married. I knew that I was called to the House of Prayer prior to my wedding, as I was volunteering there and really felt like it was a good fit given my strengths and passions. My time here has been incredible and God has only confirmed that it is the place to be for now. From incredible financial miracles, to the preparation and growth that He has done deep inside my heart, there is no doubt in my mind that this is where I should be. Not only do I get to lead worship often, I am constantly living by faith and seeing God come through in ways that only deepen my excitement for, and love of life. Along with this, it has strengthened my musical as well as creative gifts, which has made an impact on the other ministries that I am involved with as well. Many people question if this is wise given a new marriage and the financial inconsistency, but I do believe that this is where God wants me to be and will continue here until He calls Kirsten and I elsewhere.

An Invitation
I would love for you to come to the prayer room and get a better idea of exactly what goes on in there. We have 1.5 hour prayer meetings 2 times every weekday from 9-12 (I lead worship on Wednesday mornings at 10:30 if you would want to see that) in the Marketplace Chapel (West Edmonton Mall 2nd level by Fantasyland Hotel), as well as two 1 hour prayer meetings on Friday night’s from 7-9:00PM in the Marketplace Chapel. What I am most excited about, though, is HoPE Tuesdays! We have 1 hour of prayer and worship followed by 1 hour of teaching (I am often involved in the worship and sometimes am given the opportunity to teach). We meet at the lighthouse (McKernan Baptist Church Youth Building and day-care) at 11125-76 ave from 7-9:00PM (click here for a map).
House of Prayer Edmonton also hosts regular events where we bring in speakers from other Houses of Prayer or simply host special evenings of prayer for specific current happenings. If you want information about this, frequent our website.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, if you have any questions, leave a comment here or email me. Any offensive or argumentative comments will be removed! Thanks so much,

Daunavan Buyer


Leave a Reply

